Our Vision

To be the excellent government institution that helps the life styles of the community in a beneficial way to the society

Our Mission

To provide a service in line with the government policies, uplift the lifestyles of the society through a planned, efficient development process consisting of proper co-ordination of resources and participation of the people"

In the North Central Province, in the Polonnaruwa district, the Mahaweli River has been allocated for the Dimbulagala Divisional Secretariat Division in the Southern Bank of the area. This was established in 1988 by the then Egodapaththuwa of the Thamankaduwa Assistant Government Agent's Division. It was later known as the Dimbulagala Divisional Secretariat. The administration started to be administrated in 18 GN divisions but later it has been increased to 26, with the administrative decentralization process since 1980 and the beginning of the Mahaweli economic activity and new settlements, the number has increased to 81. Then, From 30 June 2000, 30 Grama Niladari divisions have been separated for the purpose of separation from the Welikanda divisional secretariat separate unit was established. In 2001, five Grama Niladhari Divisions joined the Dimbulagala Divisional Secretariat in the Ampara District and the Dimbulagala Divisional Secretariat is consist of 56 Grama Niladari divisions.
The total area of the Dimbulagala Divisional Secretariat is 58183.7 hectares. There are 36 Grama Niladari Divisions in the Mahaweli B Zone and 20 from the C Zone and the administrative activities of the Polonnaruwa and Ampara districts. Administration activities of the area belongs to the Mahaweli Authority. The powers of the 54 Grama Niladhari Divisions in the Polonnaruwa Police Division are owned by the Aralaganwila Police Station and 02 Grama Niladari divisions. The Directorate of Health Services at Aralaganwila is administered in the health sector.
Therefore, the administration of two districts clearly belongs to the Dimbulagala Divisional Secretary's division.
* Location
             Dimbulagala Divisional Secretariat Division is bounded on the east by Maduru Oya and Batticaloa Districts, by the South by Ampara District boundary, by the Mahaweli River from the West and by the Elahera, Thamankaduwa Divisional Secretary's Division boundaries and to the North by the Divisional Secretariat Divisions.

Role performed at DS

Name From To
Mr.W.M.R Walisundara 1988.01.01 1991.10.31
Mr. P. Rajapaksha 1992.08.20 1995.02.28
Mr. J.H.M.Ranaweera 1995.03.01 1997.06.22
Mr.B.M.P.N Beligammana 1997.06.23 2002.11.19
Mrs. A.A.G.Hunupolagama 2002.12.13 2003.10.07
Mr.B.A Sumanadasa 2004.03.16 2004.05.04
Mrs. A.A.G.Hunupolagama 2004.05.15 2008.02.24
Mr.N.G.P Panditharathna 2008.02.25 2008.07.01
Mr.D.V.A.R. Nanayakkara 2008.07.02 2012.08.24
Mr.D.L.K Priyawansha 2012.08.28 2012.09.19


Mrs.S.Jalatheepan 2015.03.18  2018.03.04
Mr. N.A.A.S. Nishshnkaarachchi 2018.03.15 2018.04.02
Mr.K.S.C. Sugath Kumara 2018.04.03 2018.08.05
Mr.P.T.M Irfan 2018-08.06  

News & Events

Scroll To Top